J.M. Leech Jewellers was founded on its current site in 1928 by Mr Johnstone Melmore Leech and his wife Jessie Francis Leech.
Through the coming years J.M. Leech was to see many world events, from lows including depressions, wars, to the highs of many wonderful employees over the years, including some very famous J.M. Leech names such as Faith Leech (daughter), the 1956 Olympic Champion winning Gold and Bronze in the swimming events, still the only Bendigo woman to win Gold at an Olympic Games event to this day.
In 1998 the store was completely demolished and rebuilt from the ground up, using original leadlight and utilising a modern shopper friendly design. In 2012 it was given its most recent facelift, still maintaining the bulk of the award winning 1998 design. J.M. Leech Jewellers is now owned and operated by Mr Adam Tuohy, grandson of Mr Leech, and his wife Anna. Along with the many changes J.M. Leech has encountered, they now specialize in jewellery and watches, with the last of the giftware lines being phased out at the end of 2002.
Adam and Anna offer a unique personalized shopping service for their customers when traveling overseas to the various international Jewellery fairs and regularly source special requests for the finest diamonds from around the world as well as coloured gemstones and pearls. Anna meets with clients to ascertain exactly what they want and currently boasts a 100% satisfaction score for all fair orders. The business, now in the 21st Century, is the oldest Bendigo established jeweller , and still thrives on a customer focused ethic that was the foundation of the business in the 1920s.